25 Opening Lines To Use On Dating Apps In 2020 To Win Everyone Over

It goes without saying that your opening line has the potential to make or break a match on a dating app. If you totally knock it out of the park with a cute or clever opener, you can not only land a date, but also spark some flirtatious vibes from the get-go. No pressure or anything, right? If you’re feeling uninspired (or just tired of using the same ol’ conversation starters), fret not: There are a slew of opening lines to use on dating apps in 2020 that will make a stellar first impression.

There’s an art to crafting the perfect opener. For one, you want to be yourself — that’s the only way to tell if you have a genuine connection with someone. It’s also a good idea to scope their profile and look for little tidbits worth commenting on, like the fact that they traveled somewhere that’s on your wanderlust wishlist, or have an interesting tattoo. Be on the lookout for anything you have in common — if you both majored in child psychology, quoted Dwight Schrute, or live for folk-rock music, those are all things you can point out in a smooth opening line.

Ultimately, a winning first message is unique, easy to respond to, and makes the recipient smile, laugh, or smirk (or some combination of the three). Here are a few foolproof lines that are bound to stand out in a sea of matches and messages.

The best opening lines to use on dating apps in 2020 have a little bit of humor.
Shutterstock

1. “Pop quiz: What are your thoughts on pineapple pizza? No pressure, but this could seal our fate.”

2. “I think there’s something wrong with my phone… because I can’t find your number in it.”

3. “[Insert GIF of Titanic splitting in half] An icebreaker. There, I did the thing.”

4. “In case you were wondering, dad jokes are the way to my heart. Anddd fire away! The cornier, the better.”

5. “Two truths and one lie — go. Fair warning: I”m pretty good at this.”

6. “Looking for the Pam to my Jim [or Rachel to my Ross]… know anyone who might be interested?”

7. “I have this rule where I only talk to strangers on the Internet about pizza. So, thin crust or deep dish?”

8. “You can tell a lot about a person by their Netflix queue. So, what’s the last thing you watched?”

Some of the best opening lines to use on dating apps in 2020 involve open-ended questions.
Shutterstock

9. “I’m going to make this real easy. If you want to make me swoon, send me the best animal GIF you can find.”

10. “Be honest: Did you swipe right for me or my fur baby?”

11. “What size bowling shoes should I get for you? You know, for our date at the bowling alley this weekend.”

12. “If you were a vegetable, you’d be a cute-cumber.”

13. “If you were a fruit, you’d be a fine-apple.”

14. “When your mom told you she wanted the best for you, I’m pretty sure she was talking about me.”

15. “My grandparents met on [insert dating app name], so I’m feeling really good about this.”

16. “I’ve heard that flattery will get you everywhere, so has anyone ever told you that you look like [insert celeb’s name]?”

17. “I don’t mean to brag but I happen to be really good at overthinking my dating app messages. What about you?”

These opening lines to use on dating apps in 2020 are sure to get a convo started.
Shutterstock

18. “Wanna send memes back and forth until we finally feel comfortable enough to meet up IRL?”

19. “I’m from the future and we need to be together because our child will achieve world peace.”

20. “Let’s just skip to the important stuff: Chunky or smooth peanut butter?”

21. “Sorry it took me so long to message you, I was at Trader Joe’s trying to figure out what to buy you for breakfast.”

22. Serious question. Best invention: tacos or [insert dating app you matched on]?”

23. “Here’s my life story in five emojis. I’d love to hear your interpretation of that. Better yet, what’s yours?”

24. “I call big spoon. Is that gonna be a problem?”

25. “Real talk. Is that actually your cute dog or did you borrow him for bait? (BTW, it’s totally working).”

Thank you for reading my blog. Please read, like, comment, and most of all follow Phicklephilly. I publish every day.

Buy Phicklephilly THE BOOK now available on Amazon!

Listen to the Phicklephilly podcast LIVE on Spotify!

Instagram: @phicklephilly    Facebook: phicklephilly    Twitter: @phicklephilly

If You Drunk Text Your Ex, Do You Still Love Them? An Expert Says Not Quite

You’re jolted awake by the sound of your blaring alarm, reverberating straight from your nightstand and into your subconscious. You roll over, shut off the noise, and feel the familiar pain in your head of a throbbing hangover. As you open your phone to check the photos from last night, you realize with horror that you fired off a message to your ex, of all people. “What does this mean?,” you wonder anxiously. “If I drunk text my ex, do I still love them?”

In the midst of an alcohol-fueled night, almost everyone has sent a text that they regret. Your inhibitions were lowered, and at the time, it seemed like a perfectly rational idea to reach out to a person you used to date. In the morning, this no longer seems like such a clever plan — and discovering the text immediately fills you with panic. You thought you had moved on from your ex, but now you’re concerned that maybe you have lingering feelings for them.

Chelsea Leigh Trescott, breakup coach and podcast host of Thank You Heartbreak, tells Elite Daily exactly what that drunk text might mean. Spoiler alert: it’s probably not as bad as you think. “Drunk texting your ex could mean you’re still in love with them, but it could also mean a myriad of other things that have more to do with fear than love,” she explains. Consider the scenario you were in last night. Were you out with a bunch of happily coupled-up friends, talking about how close they were to getting engaged? “Drunk texting your ex after this evening now may be motivated by the fear of never finding the one, and not actually the belief that your ex really is the one,” Trescott says.

Similarly, if your family is constantly asking why you’re single, you might get stressed about fulfilling their expectations of you. In that case, it’s easy to understand why contacting your ex would feel safe and familiar. “When our inhibitions are lowered due to alcohol, our resulting behavior is more heavily influenced by the immediate context and circumstance we are in than any careful and conscious revelation about our ex,” Trescott says. Your brain is only focused on the here and now, and something triggered a memory of your ex that made you want to reach out to them.

Two beautiful girls drinking and having fun on a girls' night out
Shutterstock

I know what you’re thinking. “But what about the saying, ‘Drunk words are sober thoughts’?” Trescott says there’s no real truth to this idea. “They’re unprocessed thoughts to be challenged,” she says instead. “When we’re communicating drunk, we’re anxiously attempting to satisfy selfish needs or to extinguish sober fears and lingering wounds.” When you’re drunk, you’re more likely to say things that you wouldn’t say sober, but that doesn’t mean those drunk words are true. “While alcohol may lower our inhibitions [and] cause us to be less guarded, that’s not nearly the same thing as becoming more genuine,” Trescott says. “What might come out [instead] are exaggerated confessions fueled by temporary emotions and momentary urges. That drunk text is more an indication of your hopeless romanticism than your deep-seated love.”

For whatever reason, you were reminded of your past relationship, so you decided on a drunken whim to contact your ex. It doesn’t have to mean anything more. Now, if you’re trying to figure out a way out of this situation, Trescott has a plan for you. “The best way to address a drunk text with your ex the next day is with a follow-up text that takes accountability for your altered state,” she suggests. “That text might sound like, ‘I’m sorry if last night’s text seemed to come out of the blue. It’s obvious to me now that I have some unresolved feelings that have less to do with you and more to do with me. If you can, please take those drunken texts with a grain of salt. In the future, I’ll do better when I’m under the influence. ;)” This text keeps it lighthearted and downplays any potential awkwardness.

Sure, this situation might be a little embarrassing, but it need not be the cause for major stress. Mistakes like this happen to everyone, and if you laugh it off and own up to it, you’ll show off your confidence. The next time you’re out drinking with your squad, maybe have them intercept your phone before you send that 2 a.m. message. That’s what good pals are for.

Thank you for reading my blog. Please read, like, comment, and most of all follow Phicklephilly. I publish every day.

Buy Phicklephilly THE BOOK now available on Amazon!

Listen to the Phicklephilly podcast LIVE on Spotify!

Instagram: @phicklephilly    Facebook: phicklephilly    Twitter: @phicklephilly

55 Hilarious Pick Up Lines for Tinder

Whether you are in a relationship, out of a relationship, or trying to get into one, you are likely already acquainted with pick-up lines. And if you have an active profile on Tinder, you’ve perhaps even used or come across a few pick-up lines today.

Pick-up lines serve numerous purposes in the dating world. You can use them to get the girl you’ve matched with to develop an interest in you, break the ice in a deadlocked conversation, or simply liven up an otherwise boring talk.

When using pick-up lines, the unwritten rule is that the cuter and more hilarious the lines are, the higher your chances of winning the girl.

The following are some of the funniest tinder pick-up lines you can use to win a girl over.

Best Pick up Lines

Young Man Using Tinder to Find Women

1. Are you a bank loan? Because you have my interest.

2. Are you a Middle Eastern dictator? Because you’re causing a political uprising in my pants!

3. Are you the SAT? Cause I’d do you for 3 hours and 45 minutes, with a ten minute break in the middle for snacks.

4. Are you the square root of 1? Because you seriously can’t be real!

5. Can you stop staring at my profile and message me already? I don’t bite unless you ask.

6. Damn, you have a dog! Does that mean I’ll never win the “best ever cuddler” title?

7. Damn, you’re a knockout. Was your father a boxer, or did you just get lucky with the gene pool? ???? I bet you a cocktail your personality is even better than your looks too! ?

8. Did it hurt when you fell from heaven?

9. Did you have lucky charms for breakfast? Because you look magically delicious!

10. Do you believe in love at first sight, or should we match again?

11. Do you believe in love at first swipe?

12. Do you ever just lie down at night, look up at the stars and think about all the messed up things in the world? Like why is there a ‘D’ in ‘fridge’ but no ‘D’ in ‘refrigerator’?

13. Do you have a personality as intriguing as your eyes?

14. Do you know the best thing about kisses? If you don’t like them, you can always return them.

15. Do you like sleeping? Me too, we should do it together some time.

16. “Have you ever been to Antarctica?”
“No, why?”
“No way neither have I, we have so much in common!”

17. I’d say you’re the bomb, but that could turn into lethal conversation…

18. “I’m writing a book”
“Fantastic, what about”
“About how beautiful girl like you can stay for so long before meeting smart dudes like me”

19. Hey gorgeous, will you be my Tinderella?

20. I don’t flirt but I do have a habit of being extra nice to people who are extra attractive.

21. If a thousand painters worked for a thousand years, they could not create a work of art as beautiful as you.

22. If beauty were time, you’d be eternity.

23. If I were to ask you out on a date, would your answer be the same as the answer to this question?

24. If we were at home, cuddling on a rainy Sunday morning, what would we have for breakfast? a) American pancakes b) French crèpes c) waffles d) omelette e) something else?

25. If you look that good in clothes, you must look even better out of them.

26. If you were a triangle you’d be acute one.

27. If you’re as good at cuddling as you’re good looking, I’m signing myself up on the waitlist for a date. ?

28. I’m sure you get this all the time but you look like a mix between Fergie and Gandhi.

29. I’m accepting applications if you want to apply, requirements include your phone number.

30. I’m new in town. Could you give me directions to your apartment?

31. Is your name Earl Grey? Because you look like a hot-tea!

32. I seem to have lost my phone number. Can I have yours?

33. I value my breath so I’d appreciate if you’d stop taking it away.

34. Maybe you can help me. I forgot the password to my account, and when I hit ‘password hint,’ it keeps telling me ‘Jessica’s phone number.

35. My mom told me not to talk to strangers online, but I’ll make an exception for you.

36. My nickname at school was “the truth” girls just couldn’t handle me, what was yours?

37. On a scale from 1 to 10, you’re a 9 and I’m the 1 you need.

38. Since distance equals velocity times time, let’s let velocity and time approach infinity, because I want to go all the way with you.

39. So, are you the kind I’d find climbing mountains and acing the diamond slopes, or chilling on the beach with a glass of wine?

40. Sorry it took me so long to message you, I was at Whole Foods trying to figure out what you like for breakfast.

41. Sorry, the position for Spanish teacher has been filled. What I’m looking for at the moment is a bedroom acrobatic teacher.

42. Tell me, what can I say to impress you?

43. They say Tinder is a numbers game… so can I get your number?

44. This is so us. Me doing all the talking. You sitting there looking all cute.

45. We matched! Does that mean you’re coming over to my place tonight, or should we meet and establish we aren’t serial killers or living with our parents first?

46. When I was younger my fairy godmother said I can have a long penis or a long memory, I can’t remember my response.

47. When our friends ask us how we met, what are we going to tell them?

48. What’s a smart, attractive, young… man like me doing without your number?

49. You look like you have great energy, I’m curious, where do you get it from? Yoga? Sports? Dance?

50. You must be a small amount of red phosphorus and I must be a tiny wooden stick… Because we’re a match.

51. You sound busy…any chance of adding me to your to-do list?

52. You’re going to have to delete tinder, you’re making the other girls look bad.

53. You’re seriously cute, but here’s the dealbreaker: do you, or do you not eat marmite?

54. You’re so beautiful you just made me forget my pickup line.

55. You’ve got the best smile on tinder. I bet you use Crest.

There goes our rundown of the most hilarious pick-up lines on Tinder. Add more glamor to your Tinder dating experience by implementing some of these cute and creative liners.

 

5 Telltale Signs You’re Dating A Manipulative Person

Discover the 5 ways of manipulators and if you’re at risk

In the search for love, many who are unprepared walk straight into traps set by people with power complexes and major issues. If you don’t know what the signs of a manipulative person is, then it’s likely that you’ve been caught in their web as well.

Manipulative people are everywhere. They weave complex situations with lies, guilt, and fear, but the signs aren’t often easy to spot. And before you know it, you might find yourself in a relationship with a manipulator.

One of the easiest ways to help people recognize the signs of manipulation is by giving examples that are easy to understand. With that in mind, you can look to the characters in Star Wars and see classic examples of manipulative personalities.

Manipulators may possess only one or a few of these five traits, but they are important to recognize regardless.

Here are 5 signs you’re dating a manipulative person.

1. Manipulators use their money, power, and influence to lure you.

Let’s say a man recently met a woman and wowed her with his wealth. She thought that his money would solve her problems. In Star Wars, as Anakin grows up, he develops a lust for power; he wants to save his wife from death.

His seemingly noble desire attracts him to Emperor Palpatine who promises him the ability to accomplish this goal. However, Anakin’s pride ends up corrupting him into a possessive control freak and slave of the dark side.

Manipulators like Palpatine use their relationships for their own self-aggrandizement, rather than seeking the good of the other person. They will use whatever it takes to lure you in without actually caring about you.

2. They guilt you to build influence.

Once manipulators have enticed you into their clutches, they often attempt to make you feel guilty. They pressure you to please them — otherwise, you suffer the consequences.

They prey on kind people, especially people-pleasers, those who dislike confrontation, and the overly introspective who verge on the side of scrupulous. With guilt, manipulators try to accumulate as much influence in your life as possible.

3. They work in extreme absolutes (ultimatums).

In Episode III: Revenge of the Sith, Anakin’s Jedi teacher Obi-Wan Kenobi infamously decries, “Only a Sith Lord deals in absolutes.”

In Star Wars lingo, Jedis are the good guys, and Siths are the bad guys. Manipulators give you ultimatums and attitude, as well as mistreat you if you refuse to give them their way.

Their hot and cold temperament fluctuations confuse you into depending on their approval for your own happiness. For example, if you’ve only dated someone two times, but they tell you that in order for you to introduce them to your friends, you must call them your “boyfriend” right away.

Manipulators turn everything to revolve around them, from your birthday to friends’ events. They need the spotlight and only allow others to relax once they feel content.

They encourage you to cancel plans with other friends and pressure you to move quickly otherwise you might incur their disfavor or miss out.

4. They use fear to control you.

Many people experience the fear of losing a significant other. They may think that their current boyfriend or girlfriend is as good as it gets. If someone coerces you by threatening to leave you if you don’t acquiesce to their demands, they’re using fear to control you.

This is whether they’re insistent on getting married before you’re ready, or forcing other changes in your life you’re not prepared for. Everyone has a right to state their needs and boundaries, but if someone hurts you or pulls away when you don’t meet their needs, that’s a huge red flag.

Manipulators try to make you dependent on them and think that you need them. They use undercover blackmail techniques to instill the fear of bad consequences, their anger, and their ability to turn people against you.

5. They’ll shower you with flattery and praise… at first.

Let’s say your new suitor sends you all the right gifts. For instance, he brought flowers and wrote a thoughtful card after you had two major fights in the early stages of the relationship.

Manipulators use smiles and laughs as bargaining chips for a reason, especially if they want more. They calculate everything, which makes them fake and rarely genuine. When getting gifted presents and flattered, you may forget about the bad times.

Manipulators will often say the right things, but never actually follow up with their actions.

Manipulators do this when they feel that they are teetering dangerously on the edge of your chopping block. Emperor Palpatine stroked Anakin’s ego and turned him against the Jedi council by feeding him lies.

Manipulators often slander others and isolate their victims. Usually very charismatic and persuasive, manipulators possess silver-tongues. Just when you might break it off, they will do something especially kind to make you forget the bad times.

Fortunately, you can take your life back and end the relationships with manipulators; life is too short to walk on eggshells. Unfortunately for Anakin, he descends deeper into Darth Sidious’ clutches, and his wife dies as a result of his anger. Ironically, she was the one he’d wanted to save in the first place.

If you’re in a relationship with a manipulator, it may feel like a cloud hanging over your head, preventing you from enjoying your life or being yourself. Manipulators create a black hole; they want to suck your soul until you depend on them for everything.

Even during the breakup, manipulators will pull out all the stops to stay, but don’t get sucked back in.

It’s normal to feel anxious and trapped in this situation when your significant other creates drama and a toxic environment. But you can pull yourself free when you recognize the red flags of a manipulator.

Sometimes manipulators turn physically abusive, but often they remain emotionally abusive, and as a result, are harder to pin down.

If you think that you have fallen under the spell of a manipulator, remember that you hold the power. And once you realize the situation, you can, with courage, stop this train.

Thank you for reading my blog. Please read, like, comment, and most of all follow Phicklephilly. I publish every day.

Buy Phicklephilly THE BOOK now available on Amazon!

Listen to the Phicklephilly podcast LIVE on Spotify!

Instagram: @phicklephilly    Facebook: phicklephilly    Twitter: @phicklephilly

10 Stories About Dating Emotionally Unavailable People That Will Break Your Heart

Sometimes, you might end up kissing a couple of frogs before you meet your prince, princess, or genderless monarch. And while tales of heartache can be hard to hear, these stories about dating emotionally unavailable people are actually super enlightening. When you really like someone, and they seem to be a little distant, it’s totally natural to wonder what you’re doing wrong. While every relationship is different, if you’re dating someone that’s kind of reserved, that may be a them-issue. In any relationship, it’s always OK to ensure your needs are being met — don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

Perhaps your date doesn’t seem to be on your emotional wavelength. If this is the case, you never need to feel bad about asking for more from the person you’re dating. Perhaps you have your own history of falling for emotionally distant people, or you’ve helped your bestie or sister through some hopelessly detached hookups. At the end of the day, listening to other people who have shared similar experiences can be everything from helpful to healing.

Phicklephilly talked with 10 people about their relationships with emotionally unavailable partners, and what they had to say is super emotional.

weedezign/Shutterstock

1. They weren’t going to change.

This spring I was dating someone for about four months, and I thought we were on the same page about getting more serious, but then he started to really pull away. When I asked him why he seemed distant, he told me he couldn’t be my boyfriend. It was really hard for me to understand that he was emotionally unavailable and wasn’t going to change, no matter how much I liked him.

— Kendra, 24

2. I always go for people who don’t like me “that way.”

I have a marked tendency to go for guys who don’t like me ‘that way. I tend to subconsciously go for the ones who aren’t literally available or interested somehow. I try to force myself to think about how these guys aren’t into me and when I’m more aware of the reality that we’ll never really be together, it burns a bit and then they seem less attractive. But sometimes, it’s still really tough to make feelings go away.

3. I was forcing a relationship.

I spent most of my twenties trying to force relationships out of things that should have ended after a couple of dates. I felt that if a relationship wasn’t going well, it wasn’t because I had picked the wrong person, it was because I wasn’t trying hard enough to fix it. I am currently in a healthy relationship with my S.O. of almost three years. At the time we met, I had cut off all the jerks I was still in contact with and decided to just date and be open to the possibility of meeting someone different. Because we’re both quite introverted, the progression of the relationship was much slower. I think I really needed that. It gave me time to consider whether I actually liked him and wanted to keep moving forward.

4. Now that I’m single, I’m happier and more relaxed.

I tried to date a couple times after my last bad breakup and realized very early on I was still picking men who were emotionally distant and very full of themselves. So I’ve stopped picking anyone. Until I fix my relationship picking skills, I won’t be trying on any new romantic relationships. That might equate to singlehood for a while. But, hey, now that I’m single I’m happier and much more relaxed. I think taking a breather to address some changes to your own patterns is smart thing to do.

5. I had never actually asked what my needs are.

I just got out of a year long relationship and afterward realized that I had only ever chosen guys who were either emotionally unavailable/never actually be able to truly get to know me and satisfy my needs. It was a crazy realization because I’ve always thought of myself as an empathetic emotionally responsive person, but I realized that I had never actually asked myself or thought much about what my needs were. The place that I’ve come to is that I need to focus on learning to identify and satisfy my own emotional needs.

6. There was an invisible wall that I couldn’t get through.

There was this one guy I was hooking up with for a while (slash still am because hookups are fun) who had just gotten out of a relationship. Anytime we hung out it would be great and there were times when banter would be next level, but I just couldn’t ever get past it with him! Like, there was this invisible wall, and no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t get through! It was really stressful cause I started to put stuff on myself and look for reasons why I couldn’t get through to him when in reality, he wouldn’t let anyone in!

— Georgia, 22

7. She wasn’t ready to open up to someone.

I dated someone for about six months, and she seemed very emotionally available at first, but gradually as I got to know her, she slowly cut me off and pulled away. In the end, she told me she regretted opening up to me in the first place and that she wasn’t ready to be in a relationship or open up to someone. It was super painful to hear, but it helped me move on.

— Mila, 26

8. It was exhausting never knowing if he was going to cancel.

I dated someone would constantly cancel dates an hour before we were supposed to meet, saying he had to see his family or do something else he had planned. Clearly, if he had cared at all about our plans, he wouldn’t have told other people he’d do other things with them at the same time. Or he was just lying to me and trying to use his plans with other people as an excuse. Honestly, it doesn’t matter anymore. He wasn’t ready to let me into his life. For the time we were together, it was exhausting never knowing if a date that we scheduled was going to happen or not and planning my days around things that may get canceled.

— Jai, 23

9. He was too immature to talk to me.

In college, I dated this guy, and I really liked him. I was enjoying just dating, but I guess he was nervous that I was thinking we were going to be together forever or something? Honestly, he was too immature to know how to resolve that in his mind or talk to me about it. He just defaulted to this weird distant stance for a while. Eventually, I had enough and called it quits.

— Ara, 22

10. They weren’t ready to be in a relationship.

Last winter, I was hooking up with someone for a while. I had met all of their friends, and I really thought it was going well. When I asked them to meet some of my friends, they said they didn’t even know how they felt about me and thought it was “too soon.” I was so sad for a while, but then I realized that they weren’t ready or interested in being in a real relationship.

— Zoe, 19

Dating someone emotionally unavailable can be super emotionally draining. Though every relationship is different, you deserve someone that’s really ready (and excited!) to be with you. Being open and honest with someone is an important step in forming a healthy relationship. Remember: being emotionally vulnerable isn’t always easy, but it can be worth it.

 

Thank you for reading my blog. Please read, like, comment, and most of all follow Phicklephilly. I publish every day.

Listen to Phicklephilly LIVE on Spotify!

Facebook: phicklephilly       Instagram: @phicklephilly       Twitter: @phicklephilly

Should Single People Be Using Quarantine To Date?

As the majority of social distancing measures remain in place in an effort to curb the spread of coronavirus, dating apps have reported an increase in messages sent and matches made.

After all, for single people quarantining at home, lockdown may seem like the perfect opportunity to finally dedicate time to finding a significant other – or at least dating.

However, while dating apps may provide companionship and comfort – through virtual relationships built during this period – relationship experts warn that not everyone should be using the platforms amid the pandemic.

According to Dr Jennifer B Rhodes, a licensed clinical psychologist, dating/relationship coach and founder of Rapport Relationships, the only people that should be using dating apps right now are those who are in a good place mentally and emotionally, and who were in a good place before the pandemic began.

Speaking to The Independent, Rhodes said: “If you have been actively working on yourself and you’re in a good place, and you go on Bumble or Tinder and you meet someone, you’re going to treat Zoom as a coffee date.”

But, if you’re swiping out of “boredom rather than the mindful intent of developing a relationship,” the behaviour is likely an avoidance tactic.

Explaining that it’s “normal human nature to become avoidant,” Rhodes said: “Right now most of us are fearful, and to cope we usually distract ourselves. So it’s using online dating so you don’t think about how scared you are.”

According to Rhodes, this is especially true if you were “super stressed” before the pandemic began, in which case this time should be dedicated to focusing on self-care.

“If you were super stressed, this is not the time to be online dating. You should be taking care of yourself and this is a time to rest,” Rhodes said.

She recommends using this time to find out what actually makes you happy.

“And then you are in a good place to date after,” Rhodes added.

Rachel A Sussman, LCSW, a licensed psychotherapist, relationship expert, and founder of Sussman Counselling, agreed.

“For singles, it’s complicated,” she told us, explaining that “if an individual has had dating fatigue or dating burnout,” quarantine should be used to recharge and not think about dating.

“If you were sick of dating, this is a good time to focus on yourself,” she said.

However, she stressed that those who do take a break during this time to prioritize themselves should “get back out there post-corona”.

While quarantine may not be the best time for some people to online date, Rhodes acknowledged that for those who are “doing it mindfully,” it’s a “great time because you can explore”.

 

Thank you for reading my blog. Please read, like, comment, and most of all follow Phicklephilly. I publish every day.

Buy Phicklephilly THE BOOK now available on Amazon!

Listen to the Phicklephilly podcast LIVE on Spotify!

Instagram: @phicklephilly    Facebook: phicklephilly    Twitter: @phicklephilly