Gratitude for The Wave: Sharing My Seashore Stories with the Community

Hello All! A month ago the following email from the Wildwood Historical Museum appeared in my inbox:

Hi Wildwood writers! The historical society is looking for a volunteer columnist to write a weekly history column for the Wildwood Sure Guide through Labor Day. 

You can submit work you’ve already written or write new material, the only requirement is that it is not in first-person, includes a picture, and is about Wildwood history or nostalgia. If you need images, I can give you access to our digital photo collection which you can access remotely.

Please let me know if you are interested as soon as possible, and I’ll help you with the next steps! 

Thank you,

Taylor Henry, president 

.

At first, I thought, who’s going to be able to compose a new historical article written in the third person every week for the next 16 weeks? And they want pictures?

But then it came to me. I can. I’m already doing it on my blog.

So I responded to Taylor and told her I was up to the challenge!

I am thrilled to announce that my Seashore Stories will now be published weekly in The Wave, a beloved publication that reaches the hearts of residents and tourists alike across Cape May County, Wildwood, and beyond. As a writer, there is no greater joy than seeing my stories find a home where they can be appreciated and enjoyed by readers who love the Jersey Shore as much as I do.

The Wave is part of a distinguished family of publications that includes the Ocean City Sentinel, Upper Township Sentinel, and Sentinel of Somers Point, Linwood, and Northfield, as well as the Cape May Star and Wave. This network of community-focused newspapers has a rich history of serving our coastal towns with dedication and excellence, and I am honored to be a part of it.

During the vibrant spring and summer seasons, The Wave stands out as a free tourist guide that offers a wealth of information about local events, art gallery shows, weekly concerts, theater performances, and business features. This year, The Wave brings together the best of what was previously offered by the Cape May Sure Guide and Wildwood Sure Guide, creating a unified publication that celebrates the essence of our seashore communities.

My stories will be nestled among features from the Wildwood History Museum, contributions from the Greater Wildwood Chamber of Commerce, and updates from Downtown Wildwood, ensuring a rich and diverse reading experience for everyone who picks up a copy. The Wave’s distribution strategy is impressive, with bulk deliveries to retail outlets, supermarkets, liquor stores, Wawa, and government buildings in the Wildwoods, Cape May, and Lower Township, ensuring that my tales of the shore will reach a wide and appreciative audience.

I want to extend my deepest gratitude to Taylor Henry and the staff of the Wildwood Historical Museum and Craig Schenck and the entire team at The Wave for giving me this incredible opportunity. Your commitment to celebrating and preserving the unique culture and history of our seashore towns is truly inspiring. By sharing my stories with your readers, you are helping to keep the magic of our coastal communities alive and vibrant.

I look forward to contributing to The Wave each week and connecting with readers who share my love for the Jersey Shore. Thank you for this wonderful partnership and for the chance to be a part of something so special. Together, we will continue to celebrate the beauty, history, and charm of our beloved seashore. 

It’s going to be a great summer!

.

Thank you for reading my blog. Please read, like, comment, and most of all follow Phicklephilly.

You can check out my books here: https://www.amazon.com/s?k=charles+wiedenmann&ref=nb_sb_noss_1