James – 2012 to Present – Modeling Agency Mogul

I met James a few years ago. He worked for Wilhelmina Models back then. I was invited to a fashion event at the old Amory at 23rd and Sansom Streets. I went with then ex girlfriend and long time friend, Michelle, (See Series: Michelle – 2007 to Present – A Brand New Day)

The event was mediocre at best. The Armory was a hot venue. I don’t mean popular, I mean no air conditioning in that old stone building. Also there was no access to the restrooms. So you had to go out into the alley, and go into a port-o-potty. Pretty awful. Michelle and I met some nice people and we got to see a few runway shows.

We were in the VIP section which was in the back corner of the room. So free drinks and ladies bringing sliders around for us to munch on. Michelle and I are all about free food and drinks.

But at one point during the night we meet James. He is a really nice affable guy that seems hip and stylish. His hair is sort of blondish and sweeps across his forehead. He is wearing a light blue seersucker suit. We chat for a bit and exchange business cards.

After a bit, Michelle and I were fed up with the place and were both sweating from the humid August heat. We said our goodbyes and headed across the park to a cooler watering hole.

I kept in touch with James after that night. We’d chat on the phone or email about movies and TV shows. If James hadn’t gone into the modeling business, he definitely should have been a movie critic. Whenever I read his posts on social media about some film he saw recently, it’s always an eloquent fair review of the film. I love movies, so naturally I’m a big fan of James.

I heard a couple of years ago he went out to Los Angeles to work for an agency out there. I figured him a natural for that city. Hip, cool, and tons of hot models. I was sure he’d kill it out there.

And kill it he did.

Recently he returned to Philly. I was shocked, so I asked him if we could meet up for lunch and find out what he was doing now.

We met at Misconduct on JFK. (Love the chicken tenders!) We caught up on generalities and then we got into it.

James said that it’s really expensive to live in LA. He and his girlfriend had a place in West Hollywood. He was doing really well at a big agency out there. He worked in talent acquisition for them.

Sounds great right? He said he was bringing in $18,000 a month for them, but seeing little return for his efforts. So after a couple of years they decided to pack it in and come back to Philly.

But the story doesn’t end there. James is opening a new agency of his own. He’s been in the business for years and has all of the contacts. They should have the actual brick and mortar agency up and running in two months. But right now he’s building the business so he can hit the ground running when they officially open for business. he’s even gotten investors!

I’m really proud of my friend, and wish him well in his new endeavor. I look forward to hearing more about his success in the near future. Maybe I should invest. Who knows? How bad would my life be surrounded by models. I’m a modelizer anyway!

Best of luck, James! The kid stays in the picture!

 

Thank you for reading my blog. Please read, like, comment, and most of all follow Phicklephilly. I publish every Monday, Tuesday & Wednesday at 9am EST.

Instagram: @phicklephilly    Facebook: phicklephilly

 

 

Author: phicklephilly

Copyright © 2016 by Phicklephilly All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without prior written permission of the publisher, except in the case of brief quotations embodied in critical reviews and certain other noncommercial uses permitted by copyright law. All stories and characters are based on real people and events. The names and images have been changed to protect their privacy. Comment Rules: Remember what Fonzie was like? Cool. That’s how we’re gonna be — cool. Critical is fine, but if you’re rude, we’ll delete your stuff. Please do not put your URL in the comment text and please use your PERSONAL name or initials and not your business name, as the latter comes off like spam. Have fun and thanks for adding to the conversation!”

Leave a Reply

