Valerie – Love Me Tinder – Date 4 – Midtown Fall Festival

Another tale of one man’s journey navigating his way through the dating scene in Philadelphia.

Here we go again.  On my last date when we went to El Rey, we thought we might meet up the next Wednesday for something. I said drinks, (Yay!) She said Fringe Festival. (Boo!) But as Wednesday approached I just wasn’t feeling it so she didn’t reach out and neither did I. I felt a twinge guilty, so I reached out to her last week. I gave her my availability and she said how about a late movie on Friday. I didn’t want to finish up at the spa at 8:30 on a Friday night and then have to travel to Old City to sit in a movie theater for 2 hours. She was okay with that, so we settled on an early brunch Saturday. She had to attend her son’s football game later in the afternoon.

So I devised a plan.

What I really wanted to do was to go to the Midtown Fall Street Festival with my friend Johnny on Saturday, but he had a change of plans and it was supposed to rain so he couldn’t come down. I was determined to get to the festival even if it was for some of the day.

So I meet Valerie at my favorite little Rittenhouse breakfast spot, Rachael’s. We order, and of course I get no help in regard to payment. But, Rachael’s is inexpensive so my wallet doesn’t take that hard of a hit. We sit at one of the little tables and catch up. I want to tell her about the events of the last week and a half. But somehow she hijacks the conversation and starts going on and on about her stuff. I think I got the whole tale about how she went from partner at someplace she worked to her current gig as CFO at a school. I did eventually get to tell my story. Breakfast was good as always and it’s not raining, so we decide to walk east. We go by the Kimmel and she looks at one of the posters and says she’s seeing that in NY in a month. When we get to Broad she wants to go south and check out what’s happening at the Wilma Theater. After that we come upon 13th and Locust. That’s where the Street Festival I wanted to go to starts. So since we have an hour or so to kill before she has to go to her son’s game. We stroll through it, and I stop for a Land Shark beer. You have to drink in the streets if you go to a street festival! She is looking at these two cocktails they have and of course she gets one, and I pay for it.

We continue to stroll through the festival. It’s not crazy busy yet, so it’s nice. I run into a good friend of mine pushing his little son in a stroller. His son is 11 months old and cute as hell. My friend knows that I’m writing these stories and how I’m trying to date age appropriate women. I introduce them and it’s all smiles.

I decide to walk her back through Washington Square to the Headhouse District where she lives. We’re chatting, and she’s telling me stories and talking about her family. We get to the corner of South and Lombard and she says she’s going to go because she has to pick up some things at CVS. We agree that we’ll both try to do better to keep in touch in between dates, but I don’t know if there’s going to be another one.

She’s a nice lady, but I just don’t feel the magic. If I was feeling the power for a woman and she said maybe we’ll do something on a Wednesday, I would have leapt at that, and locked it down. I just didn’t even feel like going. Saturday morning was okay, but I’m just not feeling it. So I think if there is a next time I may just tell her it’s not working. Maybe we could just go to the movies occasionally. That would be cool. She likes films and so do I. Could be a good weekend matinée buddy.

I’m really trying here. This is a struggle. But the heart wants what it wants. I’ve decided that I’m not going to do what I should do and do what I have always done. Let the shark swim and let the universe unfold. These women are boring and I’m not interested. Despite their circumstances, it’s just not a match. i don’t want to be here. I don’t like here.

We kiss and hug goodbye like always, and off she goes. I watch as she crosses the street toward CVS. I walk down 2nd and turn the corner on South Street. I have a text. It’s right on time.

June: “I’m thirsty.” (See: June – Runs with Scissors)

I text her back. “I’ll see you at the festival in 20 minutes.”

She may not be hot, but I know she likes to party. I set this deal up last night, knowing Valerie would be gone by 2pm. I stop at Milkboy South at 4th Street. Make a restroom pit stop. When I come out of the restroom, I order a shot of Jameson. Then I’m out the door smoking a cig and on my way back to the Midtown Street Festival for the rest of the day with June.

Tune in next Monday for the beginning of my epic journey with Michelle! Will the hero get the girl? Will we stay together? Get married? Kids? Find out on Halloween!

 

Thank you for reading my blog. Please read, like, comment, and most of all follow Phicklephilly. I publish every Monday at 9am EST.

I publish new Dating content every Monday at 9am EST. I publish Updates and bios and stories about related characters, such as male and female friends and acquaintances on Wednesdays at 9am EST.

Author: phicklephilly

Copyright © 2016 by Phicklephilly All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, distributed, or transmitted in any form or by any means, including photocopying, recording, or other electronic or mechanical methods, without prior written permission of the publisher, except in the case of brief quotations embodied in critical reviews and certain other noncommercial uses permitted by copyright law. All stories and characters are based on real people and events. The names and images have been changed to protect their privacy. Comment Rules: Remember what Fonzie was like? Cool. That’s how we’re gonna be — cool. Critical is fine, but if you’re rude, we’ll delete your stuff. Please do not put your URL in the comment text and please use your PERSONAL name or initials and not your business name, as the latter comes off like spam. Have fun and thanks for adding to the conversation!”

Leave a Reply

